13 WREX wins 3 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, including top prize for Overall Excellence

ROCKFORD (WREX) — 13 WREX has been awarded three Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, including the top honor of Overall Excellence.

WREX also won for Continuing Coverage and News Series, marking the second year in a row WREX has received three regional awards.

The awards were announced Tuesday morning by the Radio Television Digital News Association.  The Edward R. Murrow Awards recognize outstanding achievement in electronic journalism.

This is the fourth consecutive year 13 WREX has been honored with the award for Overall Excellence.  This category recognizes a station for the totality of its journalistic efforts, including breaking news, continuing coverage, weather, sports community service and digital media.

13 WREX’s submission included work from its six-week series on domestic violence, investigations on Rockford’s Southeast Superfund site and Radon testing in schools, comprehensive coverage from Washington, D.C. for National Police Week, as well as numerous community service events the station hosted in 2018.

Overall Excellence Submission

13 WREX was honored in both the Continuing Coverage and News Series categories for its aforementioned coverage of domestic violence in Rockford.  The station spent six weeks producing stories, special reports and community events to bring the topic of domestic violence to the forefront. The series, ‘Out of the Darkness: Shining a Light on Domestic Violence,’ was a deep dive into just how serious the abuse has become for so many people in the community.  The project culminated with a town hall event and a community march against domestic violence, both co-hosted and broadcast by the 13 WREX team.

News Series Submission

“Our station takes great pride in doing work that truly matters to the communities we serve,” said 13 WREX Station Manager, Josh Morgan. “Winning three Edward R. Murrow Awards for this work is humbling to all of us and tells us what we’re doing is having an impact on our viewers.”

This is the station’s 12th Regional Edward R. Murrow Award since 2015. All three regional awards from this year will now advance to the national competition and will be judged against winners from other regions across the country. Winners of the national competition will be announced in June.

Last year, 13 WREX received the National Edward R. Murrow for Overall Excellence.

13 WREX Newsroom

13 WREX Newsroom

More News

13 Weather Authority

Connect with WREX
Top Stories
Scroll to top
Skip to content