Skip to Content

Rockford City Council welcomes new aldermen

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00
Gina Meeks is sworn in as the new alderman for Rockford's 12th Ward during Monday night's city council meeting.

ROCKFORD (WREX) — A new era has officially begun for Rockford City Council.

On Monday night, city council swore in five new aldermen. The new members are Gabrielle Tornia (Fifth Ward), Aprel Prunty (Sixth Ward), Janessa Wilkins (Seventh Ward), Gina Meeks (12th Ward) and Mark Bonne (14th Ward).

They replace Ann Thompson-Kelly (Seventh Ward), Ginger Hanley (12th Ward), Nataivas Ervins (Sixth Ward) and Venita Hervey (Fifth Ward). Those four alderman took part in their final council meeting Monday night.

The 14th Ward became vacant after Joe Chiarelli left to become Chairman of the Winnebago County Board.

Nick Landi

Nick Landi is a News Producer at 13 WREX. He has worked at WREX in that role since joining the station in 2018. He is a graduate of Illinois State University.

Skip to content