Skip to Content

Mental Health board members announced

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00

ROCKFORD (WREX) — For the first time, on Thursday night, Winnebago County Board Chairman Frank Haney announces the people he recommends to sit on the newly created Mental Health Board.

It's all part of the county's push to add additional mental health services. The Mental Health Board was created back in October.

Here's a list of who Chairman Haney recommended to fill the seven spots:

  • Mary Ann Abate
  • Timothy Nabors
  • Linda Sandquist
  • Terry Giardini
  • Richard Kunnert
  • Danielle Angileri
  • Dr. Bill Gorski

According to United Way President Paul Logli, 300 people in Winnebago County die from mental health-related issues each year.

Chairman Haney says with these people on the board, the community will be able to identify and treat mental health issues in a more expanded, yet streamlined approach.

"Since one in five Winnebago County residents, statistically, is dealing with some issue related to mental health, obviously there's a great need," Chairman Haney says. "What we've done, separate from the mental health sales tax question, is bring forward an all-star team."

Haney says with a diverse group, the board will be able to help in a lot of different areas and capacities.

The full board must confirm the recommendations at the next board meeting in two weeks.

Richard Bodee

Richard Bodee is a reporter at WREX. He joined the 13 WREX team in June 2019 after graduating from DePaul University with a Master’s degree in broadcast journalism.

Skip to content