Skip to Content

Stateline school districts receive state grant for libraries

Secretary of State and State Librarian Jesse White awards more than $1.2 million from the Illinois Secretary of State's Office's 2020 School District Library Grant Program.

"As a former public school teacher and administrator, I know our school libraries are very important in helping students learn and prepare themselves for the future," White said. "Illinois was the first state to implement a school district grant program, and I'm pleased that we can continue to provide school libraries with some of the financial resources they need to produce well-educated students."

The following school districts in the Stateline received a grant:

  • Belvidere Belvidere School District #100 $5,712.00
  • Byron Byron CUSD 226 $1,101.00
  • Dakota Dakota CUSD #201 $750.00
  • DeKalb DeKalb CUSD #428 $4,698.00
  • Dixon Dixon CUSD #170 $1,942.50
  • Freeport Freeport School District #145 $2,786.25
  • Lena Lena‐Winslow CUSD #202 $750.00
  • Machesney Park Harlem CUSD #122 $4,284.75
  • Oregon Oregon Community Unit School District #220 $1,019.25
  • Pecatonica Pecatonica CUSD #321 $750.00
  • Rochelle Rochelle Elementary District #231 $1,088.25
  • Rockford Rockford Public School District #205 $19,557.00
  • Rockton Hononegah Community High School District #207 $1,492.50
  • Rockton Rockton School District #140 $1,131.75
  • South Beloit Prairie Hill School District #133 $750.00
  • Stillman Valley Meridian CUSD #223 $1,178.25
  • Winnebago Winnebago CUSD #323 $997.50

From FY 2020 appropriations approved by the General Assembly and the governor, school library grants were awarded based on a formula of $.75 per student, with a minimum grant award of $750.

School libraries can use the funds to acquire fiction and/or nonfiction books, educational CDs and DVDs, and library subscriptions to electronic resources, as well as to improve technology by purchasing new computers or improving Wi-Fi connectivity.

Breane Lyga

Breane Lyga is the content manager at 13 WREX. She joined the team in 2015 as the 5, 6 and 10PM news producer after graduating from the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire. She was 13 WREX’s assignment editor from 2017 to 2018.

Skip to content